Advertisement
This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
Dublin: 13 °C Friday 19 October, 2018

#Food Safety

# food-safety - Monday 8 October, 2018

Live rat in drain and insects in baking dough: FSAI closed 8 food businesses in September

Inspectors observed a live rat coming out of a drain during one of these inspections.

# food-safety - Monday 3 September, 2018

Tesco organic almonds recalled due to presence of Salmonella

A range of Tullyard Farm meat products are also being recalled due to processing in an unapproved facility.

# food-safety - Wednesday 8 August, 2018

# food-safety - Thursday 2 August, 2018

Sausages recalled due to presence of Salmonella

People who have bought the affected items should dispose of them or return them to the place of purchase.

# food-safety - Tuesday 3 July, 2018

Public warned to take extra care with food after 96 cases of E.coli infection in ten days

The number of cases is over three times as high as this time last year.

# food-safety - Wednesday 2 May, 2018

Lidl recalls dried fruit products as labels were not printed in English

Lidl said the products may contain nuts and sulphur dioxide.

# food-safety - Thursday 26 April, 2018

Camembert cheese recalled from Avoca stores due to possible presence of E. coli

The cheese is being recalled because of the possible presence of E. coli.

# food-safety - Monday 9 April, 2018

Louth crèche closed over rodent infestation in baby room and nappy changing area

Dead cockroaches and fresh rat droppings were some of the other reasons for closure orders issued to businesses in Dublin and Louth.

# food-safety - Wednesday 7 March, 2018

Potato salad recalled after listeria detected

Listeria can cause diarrhoea, fever, headache and muscle pain in a very short period.

# food-safety - Friday 23 February, 2018

Lidl recalls batches of chocolate eggs, Ikea recalls marshmallows

Ikea are recalling packets of marshmallows because mice were found at the product’s production site.

# food-safety - Tuesday 13 February, 2018

Quorn tikka masala recalled due to presence of rubber pieces

Notices will be displayed in stores that sold the batches.

# food-safety - Monday 5 February, 2018

Ireland's not affected by dead rat claim that forced Aldi to remove 38,000 packs of frozen veg

Aldi has offered the woman involved £500 compensation.

# food-safety - Monday 22 January, 2018

Batch of Galaxy bars and Maltesers recalled over salmonella fears

The batch was accidentally placed on the market.

# food-safety - Monday 18 December, 2017

Your Christmas turkey could be chemical-filled if UK agrees on post-Brexit trade deal

Researchers found US poultry – washed in up to four chemical disinfectants – does not meet EU safety standards.

# food-safety - Thursday 7 December, 2017

'There was prolific evidence of rodent droppings': Three food outlets closed in November

The Food Safety Authority of Ireland served closure orders on three outlets affected by rodent infestation.

# food-safety - Friday 10 November, 2017

Sheridans recalls cheese batch due to listeria detection

The Food Safety Authority issued the alert this afternoon.

# food-safety - Tuesday 10 October, 2017

Little Milk Company cheese recalled over Listeria fears

The batch was sold in different forms with different best before dates.

# food-safety - Tuesday 15 August, 2017

Tesco recalls batch of Creamy Leek and Bacon Cooking Sauce over 'undeclared egg'

The affected batch may be unsafe for people who are allergic to eggs.

# food-safety - Friday 11 August, 2017

Row erupts between 3 European countries over how long they knew about the egg problem

They’ve been warned to stop “blaming and shaming” each other.

# food-safety - Thursday 10 August, 2017

Thousands of contaminated eggs recalled in the UK - but no threat to Ireland yet

Dutch investigators have arrested two men after millions of eggs were recalled across Europe.

# food-safety - Wednesday 9 August, 2017

Burrito and Indian restaurants among food outlets served with closure orders last month

July has seen the highest number of closure orders so far this year.

# food-safety - Saturday 29 July, 2017

Aldi recalls Skellig Bay mackerel fillets due to 'elevated levels of histamine'

Skellig Bay Mackerel Fillets, with a use by date of 30 June, have been recalled.

# food-safety - Friday 7 July, 2017

Bags of sweets withdrawn by FSAI due to sharp plastic sticks in packs

The Food Safety Authority is warning that the sharp parts may cause injury to consumers.

# food-safety - Tuesday 4 July, 2017

Seven food businesses were served enforcement orders last month

The FSAI does not expand on the reasons the orders were issued.

# food-safety - Thursday 29 June, 2017

Lidl recalls vegetarian mince due to possible presence of bits of plastic

On Tuesday, mince was recalled from Aldi for the same reason.

# food-safety - Friday 9 June, 2017

Mars Ireland recalls some Galaxy chocolate products over salmonella scare

Consumers are being urged not to eat the affected products.

# food-safety - Tuesday 30 May, 2017

People warned to cook meat fully after 50 fall ill in north Dublin salmonella outbreak

At least 16 cases of salmonella have been identified following the outbreak.

# food-safety - Wednesday 24 May, 2017

Portmarnock restaurant closed and investigation launched into salmonella outbreak

An outbreak control team has been formed and the investigation is ongoing.

# food-safety - Tuesday 9 May, 2017

Thai and Chinese restaurants among food outlets served with closure orders last month

The FSAI said while most food businesses maintain high standards of food safety, this is not always the case.

# food-safety - Wednesday 3 May, 2017

Most Irish food businesses aren't giving allergen details and some are even giving incorrect information

Three in every 100 people in Ireland have a food allergy and require accurate information.

# food-safety - Thursday 6 April, 2017

Tapas restaurant and grocery among six food outlets served with closure orders in March

A prohibition order and successful prosecution was also handed out by the HSE last month.

# food-safety - Saturday 1 April, 2017

What does a 'closure order' mean for a restaurant?

“There you are, you’ve worked your whole life to build a business and it’s all over the papers and internet that you don’t look after your food.”

# food-safety - Wednesday 8 March, 2017

Pizza and Mexican restaurants among food outlets served with closure orders last month

The FSAI said some businesses are “potentially putting consumers’ health at serious risk”.

# food-safety - Wednesday 1 March, 2017

Last year saw the highest number of food alerts issued in a decade

The FSAI dealt with 554 food incidents in 2016.

# food-safety - Friday 24 February, 2017

Two batches of Wicklow Blue Cheese recalled over Listeria fears

Both Tesco and Supervalu recalled the cheese from their stores on Tuesday.

# food-safety - Thursday 9 February, 2017

These five food businesses were served with closure orders last month

Two were in Dublin, with one each in Limerick, Meath and Cork.

# food-safety - Monday 6 February, 2017

A live insect, human nail and cigarette butt just some of the things found in food last year

The Food Safety Authority of Ireland received over 3,200 complaints last year.

# food-safety - Thursday 19 January, 2017

These chocolate Santas are being recalled because they may have plastic in them

It applies to the 200g size of the chocolate Santa.

# food-safety - Monday 9 January, 2017

Tayto manufacturer fined €2,000 under food safety laws

The fine related to the contravention of a European regulation.

1 2 3 4 5

Trending Tags