Advertisement
#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 2°C Saturday 26 September 2020

Friday 11 September, 2020

The CAO points for 2020 have just been released. Find them all here

Compare every course and institution with our dedicated site.

Monday 7 September, 2020

No fluffy cushions needed: 7 tips for creating a cosy living space without adding clutter

Want a minimalist living room that also feels warm and welcoming? Here’s what to do.

Monday 24 August, 2020

10 under-€75 living room picks from Scandi retailer JYSK - and how to style them in your home

Wondering what the Danish homewares staple has to offer? Check out this curated selection of pieces.

Wednesday 19 August, 2020

No Fuss Slow Cooked Beef Ragu

All this low-maintenance dinner needs is time!

Monday 17 August, 2020

'Free up utensil drawers by adding wall hooks': 8 design tricks that’ll add space to any kitchen

No matter what square footage you’re working with, these easy fixes will make life easier.

Friday 31 July, 2020

'Dark ceilings make the room look smaller': 6 classic paint colour myths it's time to give up on

Think white is the only colour that ‘goes with everything’? Think again.

Monday 20 July, 2020

7 deep cleaning jobs that take ten minutes or less - from scrubbing the oven to tackling stains

Targeted cleaning can transform your space, fast.

Thursday 16 July, 2020

The Explainer: Why are tourists able to visit Ireland right now?

And are they actually legally required to quarantine?

Wednesday 8 July, 2020

The Explainer: How Covid-19 brought misinformation to Ireland

And is it here to stay?

Monday 6 July, 2020

WATCH: How Covid-19 brought misinformation to Ireland

A panel of experts explore one of the major ways the coronavirus pandemic has changed our lives.

Thursday 2 July, 2020

Join the Zoom discussion: How Covid-19 brought misinformation to Ireland

Join TheJournal.ie and a panel of experts tomorrow to explore another way the coronavirus pandemic has changed our lives.

Saturday 27 June, 2020

As it happened: Taoiseach Micheál Martin confirms his Cabinet line-up in the Dáil

The nation went to the polls nearly five months ago. Today, we have a new government.

Friday 19 June, 2020

Sports, weddings and haircuts: Here’s what will now be allowed on 29 June

Further changes to the government’s roadmap were announced by Taoiseach Leo Varadkar this evening.

Thursday 18 June, 2020

Has Covid-19 changed your relationship with alcohol or drugs? Take part in a special edition Global Drugs Survey

TheJournal.ie is a partner of the GDS Special Edition – you can participate here.

Saturday 13 June, 2020

24 hours that changed everything: An oral history

People across Ireland – including key decision-makers – tell the story of Thursday 12 March 2020.

Saturday 30 May, 2020

Has Covid-19 changed your relationship with alcohol or drugs? Global Drugs Survey launches special edition

TheJournal.ie is a partner of the GDS Special Edition – you can participate here.

Saturday 23 May, 2020

Take a survey: How has the news affected your reaction to Covid-19?

A psychology study is kicking off in UCD and UCC.

Monday 4 May, 2020

Has Covid-19 changed your relationship with alcohol or drugs? Global Drugs Survey launches special edition

TheJournal.ie is a partner of the GDS Special Edition – you can participate here.

Wednesday 25 March, 2020

Monday 16 March, 2020

From baby pyjamas to Blu-Tack: Parents share the strange objects their kids are obsessed with

Sometimes we all look for comfort – and we find it in many, many different places…

Thursday 5 March, 2020

Join The42 for a special Guinness Six Nations event to preview Ireland's clash with France

We’re hosting a night of rugby chat at Dublin’s DTwo Bar on Thursday, 12 March.

Friday 28 February, 2020

'She hugged me and said my story saved her life': Referee Nigel Owens on helping others

The well-known Welsh official has used his profile to speak about overcoming difficult situations.

Monday 24 February, 2020

Darling buds: 6 flower vases to brighten your home with instant spring colour

Bring spring in with natural wood and quirky ceramics.

Can you guess these famous Irish faces’ connection to rugby?

You have to figure out how the likes of Sharon Horgan, Christy Moore and David McWilliams are linked with the sport.

Monday 17 February, 2020

6 stylish door knob updates to refresh tired kitchen cabinets

From hidden to decorative designs, get a handle on things.

Quiz: How well do you know Ireland's rugby rivalry with England?

We’re putting your knowledge to the test ahead of their Guinness Six Nations showdown this weekend.

Tuesday 11 February, 2020

Want more updates? Sign up to our weekly Parenting Newsletter

It only takes a few seconds – and we’ll look after the rest.

Monday 10 February, 2020

As it happened: Sinn Féin surge sees party sweep to 37 seats as last seats filled in general election 2020

Ministers Regina Doherty, Mary Mitchell O’Connor and Shane Ross are among the high-profile names to lose their seats.

'I won’t let anything beat me': How one woman overcame setbacks to become a rugby (and bobsleigh) star

Heather Fisher speaks openly about dealing with injury, alopecia and anorexia – then lifting the Women’s Six Nations trophy.

Friday 7 February, 2020

6 ways to add bold colour and personality to a tiny bathroom

From vibrant wallpaper to tiling, these changes would make a big difference in a small space.

Wednesday 5 February, 2020

'I apologise for those remarks and I unreservedly withdraw them': SF's Murphy issues apology to family of Paul Quinn

Paul Quinn (21) was beaten to death by a gang of men in a farm shed in Monaghan in 2007.

Tuesday 4 February, 2020

'The guard said ‘I’ve been wanting to get my hands on you’’: Ex-Leinster coach Matt Williams on life in Ireland

The Australian pundit shares some memories ahead of the Guinness Six Nations – where he will be supporting his adopted home country.

Monday 3 February, 2020

Fired up: 6 ways to turn your mantelpiece into the focal point of your living room

From flowers to fun prints, make the most of a permanent feature.

Thursday 30 January, 2020

WIN: A season ticket to the 2020 Virgin Media Dublin International Film Festival

As online media partner of the event, TheJournal.ie has some fabulous prizes to give away.

Tuesday 28 January, 2020

Rob Kearney, BOD and some laughs: A look at the new Guinness Six Nations show on Virgin Media

Hosted by Muireann O’Connell, Andrew Trimble and Greg O’Shea, The Line-Out starts on Virgin Media Two this Thursday night.

Monday 27 January, 2020

Take a seat: 6 kitchen chairs that are as durable as they are stylish

Does most of your dining happen at the kitchen table? Then you’ll need chairs that are up to the task.

Monday 20 January, 2020

Bright sparks: 6 statement lamps that will be the focal point of your space

Find a lamp that’s functional and stands out too.

Monday 13 January, 2020

7 common home cleaning mistakes you've probably been making - and what to do instead

Wash pots and pans in the dishwasher? Clean windows with newspaper? Here’s how to tidy up your act.

Monday 6 January, 2020

Time to reflect: 6 super-stylish bathroom mirrors to make your washroom wonderful

Liven up your loo with one of these eye-catching additions.

1 2 3